Golfer suffers brutal DQ after caddie rules error

By , News editor and writer. Probably entertainer third.
Paul Mitzel suffered a brutal DQ at the US Mid-Amateur Championship.

A US Mid-Am hopeful was disqualified after his right-hand man made a mistake during a tense playoff. Here’s what happened…

Another week, another story about golf shooting itself in the foot due it’s seemingly endless list of ludicrous rules and regulations.

This time, the tale of DQ woe comes from the US Mid-Amateur Championship at Troon Country Club in Arizona – where spots in next year’s Masters and US Open fields are on the line.

During a tense battle in the round of 64, Paul Mitzel and Ryan O’Rear could not be separated after 19 holes – but by the time they reached the 20th tee, O’Rear had been awarded the victory.

That’s because Mitzel’s caddie and longtime friend had accepted a ride between the 1st green and 2nd tee, where the extra holes were taking place.

However, as Model Local Rule G-6 explains: “During a round, a player or caddie must not ride on any form of motorized transportation except as authorised or later approved by the committee.”

Mitzel’s bagman had been offered – and accepted – the ride unaware of the consequences. A rules official soon made him aware, and O’Rear was declared the winner.

To his credit, O’Rear, of Georgetown, Texas, said he did not want to advance in that manner and asked if he could veto the ruling and play the match to a conclusion. The official told him the decision was final.

Mitzel, though, refused to blame his caddie for the disqualification.

“I have to think anyone in that situation takes the ride when a shuttle driver asks if they want to hop on really quick and not think anything of it,” the Seattle golfer told the Golf Channel.

“My caddie doesn’t deserve any fault. He’s the man and an awesome friend. I’d do the same thing in his shoes.

“We were having so much fun, it’s too bad it had to end that way.”

It’s not the first time a disqualification of this nature has occurred in a high-profile event.

Akshay Bhatia, now a two-time PGA Tour winner, was playing in the 2018 US Amateur at Pebble Beach as a 16-year-old when his caddie, a local looper called Chris Darnell, had taken a bathroom break midway through the round.

Darnell caught a lift with what he thought was a USGA official to catch up with his player, only to later be told it was a volunteer. The infringement resulted in a one-shot penalty, which changed Bhatia’s 1-up lead back to all-square, and he went on to lose at the 19th hole.

Meanwhile, in 2015, Edoardo Molinari was disqualified from the European Tour’s Shenzhen International in China when his caddie hopped on a cart between the 9th and 10th holes at Genzon Golf Club.

The Italian – now Ryder Cup Europe’s leading stats man – said he did not see the infringement because he was “20 yards ahead”. Molinari received his DQ because he did not call a two-shot penalty on himself and therefore signed for an incorrect score.  

Maybe it’s time to start putting notices on golf carts at these events…



- Just so you know, we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this website - read why you should trust us.