Bryson DeChambeau caught up in bizarre rules drama at the US Open

By , News editor and writer. Probably entertainer third.
Bryson DeChambeau was caught up in a bizarre rules situation at the US Open.

It wouldn’t be a US Open without a rules drama – just ask Dustin Johnson. Thankfully, Bryson DeChambeau’s mistake was caught in time.

Bryson DeChambeau sure knows how to make headlines.

The defending champion got off to a rocky start at the US Open, carving his very first tee shot into Oakmont’s now infamous rough en route to an opening bogey. But that was child’s play compared to what went on about 45 minutes later at the 621-yard 4th hole.

His second shot landed smack bang in the middle of a spectator crosswalk – from which players are entitled to relief, so he instructed his caddie, Gregory Bodine, to pick up his ball.

Having scoured the far left-hand side of the fairway as a viable option, DeChambeau decided he would, in fact, just play the ball as it lied.

Only Bodine had already picked it up – and hadn’t marked the original spot.

So in stepped the rules official to tell him that, should he want to play on without penalty, he must take full relief from the walkway.

“That was dumb,” the American muttered to himself.

TG reached out to the USGA, who confirmed that DeChambeau’s ball “came to rest in a fairway crosswalk on the 4th hole that is treated as ground under repair from which free relief is available”.

They added: “He lifted his ball to take relief and believed he would be able to do so on the green side of the crosswalk.

“However, before dropping he asked for assistance from a referee, and it was determined that his nearest point of relief was on the tee side of the crosswalk.”

But that wasn’t the end of it.

With his head presumably still reeling from what had happened in the previous few minutes, DeChambeau placed his ball on the ground.

Luckily, the rules official again appeared to rescue him – this time to let him know that he must drop the ball in order for it to be in play.

“That’s a first,” six-time European Tour winner turned Sky Sports commentator Tony Johnstone posted on X. “In 45 years as a pro I’ve never seen a professional take a free drop and PLACE the ball by mistake. How strange.”

The USGA concluded that “from that point, DeChambeau properly completed relief and played his second shot toward the green”.



- Just so you know, we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this website - read why you should trust us.