The Players 2024: How much champion Scheffler and the field won from Sawgrass’ record prize fund

There was a record $25m purse up for grabs at the 50th Players Championship at TPC Sawgrass, but how much money did Scottie Scheffler win for his successful title defense and how was the prize fund split?

The eye-watering sums of money on offer in men’s professional golf remains one of the sport’s biggest talking points in 2024 and the PGA Tour’s flagship event – The Players – sees the biggest purse of the season as the world’s best players roll into Ponte Vedra Beach.

It is the only PGA Tour event that can match the enormous purses up for grabs at LIV Golf events, with £25m shared between the top 65 players (and ties) who make the weekend at TPC Sawgrass. And it’s the only event where the winner takes home more than the winner at LIV events with the man who lifts the trophy also pocketing $4.5m – $500,000 more than the Saudi-backed league pays out.

Scottie Scheffler won The Players Championship.

It’s the second successive year that such a huge sum has been up for grabs at Sawgrass with World No.1 Scottie Scheffler enjoying a massive boost to his bank balance having won in 2023 and then becoming the first man to successfully defend the title in 2024 after his Sunday 64 saw him pip Wyndham Clark, Xander Schauffele, and Brian Harman by one shot at 20-under par.

Scottie Scheffler took home the PGA Tour's biggest winner's pay cheque for a second successive season at The Players Championship.

The $25m purse is $24.75m more than was on offer at the event’s first playing in 1974 when Jack Nicklaus won the title and $50,000 in prize money. The purse reached the $1m mark in 1987, when Sandy Lyle was the victor and received $180,000, and reached $10m in 2014 when Martin Kaymer was paid $1.8m.

The money has doubled in just five years with $12.5m up for grabs in 2019 when Rory McIlroy won and received $2.25m. And it’s jumped another $10m since 2021 when Justin Thomas won and increased his bank balance by $2.7m. At $25m, The Players Championship purse is bigger than the prize fund at the US Open, which has the biggest payout of the four men’s Majors at $20m.

Unfortunately for the 38 players who’ve made a hole-in-one at Sawgrass there’s no bonus, but their aces have secured a place in the tournament’s hall of fame and a big jump up the leaderboards.

The Players Championship 2024 Preview

How The Players purse and winner’s share have changed down the years

YearTotal PurseWinnerWinner’s Share
1974$250,000Jack Nicklaus$50,000
1982$500,000Jerry Pate$90,000
1987$1,000,000Sandy Lyle$180,000
1993$2,500,000Nick Price$450,000
2000$6,000,000Hal Sutton$1,080,000
2007$9,000,000Phil Mickelson$1,620,000
2014$10,000,000Martin Kaymer$1,800,000
2018$11,000,000Webb Simpson$1,890,000
2019$12,500,000Rory McIlroy$2,250,000
2021$15,000,000Justin Thomas$2,700,000
2022$20,000,000Cameron Smith$3,600,000
2023$25,000,000Scottie Scheffler$4,500,000

The 17th at TPC Sawgrass has become an iconic hole and will play a key role in deciding the winner.

The Players 2024 prize money

Here’s how much every player who made the cut received from the record prize fund at the 50th Players Championship.

1 Scottie Scheffler-20$4,500,000
T2 Brian Harman-19$1,981,667
T2 Wyndham Clark-19$1,981,667
T2 Xander Schauffele-19$1,981,667
5 Matt Fitzpatrick-16$1,025,000
T6 Si Woo Kim-15$875,000
T6 Hideki Matsuyama-15$875,000
8 Ludvig Aberg-14$781,250
T9 Sahith Theegala-13$706,250
T9 Maverick McNealy-13$706,250
T11 Joel Dahmen-12$606,250
T11 Taylor Montgomery-12$606,250
T13 Corey Conners-11$489,583
T13 Christiaan Bezuidenhout-11$489,583
T13 Nate Lashley-11$489,583
T16 Sam Ryder-10$406,250
T16 Sepp Straka-10$406,250
T16 Doug Ghim-10$406,250
T19 Shane Lowry-9$285,536
T19 Harris English-9$285,536
T19 Dylan Wu-9$285,536
T19 Kurt Kitayama-9$285,536
T19 Alex Noren-9$285,536
T19 Adam Schenk-9$285,536
T19 Rory McIlroy-9$285,536
T26 Mackenzie Hughes-8$186,250
T26 Chris Kirk-8$186,250
T26 Nick Taylor-8$186,250
T26 Matt NeSmith-8$186,250
T26 Matti Schmid-8$186,250
T31 Ben Martin-7$152,812
T31 Mark Hubbard-7$152,812
T31 Sungjae Im-7$152,812
T31 Taylor Moore-7$152,812
T35 Denny McCarthy-6$119,286
T35 Jimmy Stanger-6$119,286
T35 Aaron Rai-6$119,286
T35 Tommy Fleetwood-6$119,286
T35 Lee Hodges-6$119,286
T35 Brice Garnett-6$119,286
T35 Jason Day-6$119,286
T42 Grayson Murray-5$93,750
T42 David Lipsky-5$93,750
T42 C.T. Pan-5$93,750
T45 Adam Scott-4$70,062
T45 Ryan Moore-4$70,062
T45 Jake Knapp-4$70,062
T45 Tony Finau-4$70,062
T45 Collin Morikawa-4$70,062
T45 Sam Burns-4$70,062
T45 Austin Eckroat-4$70,062
T45 J.T. Poston-4$70,062
53 Andrew Putnam-3$60,250
T54 Min Woo Lee-2$57,500
T54 Francesco Molinari-2$57,500
T54 Zac Blair-2$57,500
T54 Martin Laird-2$57,500
T54 Sami Valimaki-2$57,500
T54 Cameron Young-2$57,500
T54 Tom Hoge-2$57,500
T54 Emiliano Grillo-2$57,500
T62 Thomas Detry-1$55,000
T62 Viktor Hovland-1$55,000
T64 Seamus PowerE$53,500
T64 Max HomaE$53,500
T64 Tyler DuncanE$53,500
T64 J.J. SpaunE$53,500
T68 Rickie Fowler2$51,500
T68 Patrick Cantlay2$51,500
T68 Chan Kim2$51,500
T68 Peter Malnati2$51,500
72 Gary Woodland3$50,250
73 Keith Mitchell4$49,750

SUBSCRIBE TO TODAY’S GOLFER: Print and Digital access, discounts and rewards!

About the Author

Rob Jerram is Today's Golfer's Digital Editor.

Rob Jerram – Digital Editor

Rob specializes in the DP World Tour, PGA Tour, LIV Golf, and the Ryder Cup, spending large chunks of his days reading about, writing about, and watching the tours each month.

He’s passionate about the equipment used by professional golfers and is also a font of knowledge regarding golf balls, golf trolleys, and golf bags, testing thousands down the years.

You can email Rob or get in touch with him on X.

- Just so you know, whilst we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this page, we never allow this to influence product selections - read why you should trust us.