The Chevron Championship 2024: Record-breaking purse of $7.9 million

This year’s Chevron Championship had the largest purse in its history – how has the purse and prize money evolved at this Major Championship over the years?

The Chevron Championship was elevated to Major Championship status in 1983 – 11 years after it had been introduced on the LPGA Tour as a regular event on the calendar.

Since 1983, The Chevron Championship has been played as the first Major of the LPGA Tour season. Between 1968 and 1982 there were only three Major Championships on the LPGA Tour’s schedule, following the removal of the Women’s Western Open from the Major Championship roster in 1967 and nothing replaced it until 1983.

Amy Alcott was the first winner of the Chevrom Championship after it was elevated to Major status

Amy Alcott won the first Chevron Championship Major (Nabisco Dinah Shore as it was named) in 1983. For her victory, Alcott received $55,000 of the $400,000 purse – the same purse and winning prize money from 1983 – 1985.

In 1987, the first $500,000 purse was being competed for, and the winner that year, Betsy King, took home $80,000. The purse didn’t increase until 1990 when Betsy King won The Chevron Championship (Nabisco Dinah Shore) for a second time. In 1990, King earned $90,000 from the $600,000 purse.

The first winner of The Chevron Championship (Nabisco Dinah Shore) to receive over $100,000 was Dottie Mochrie in 1992. Mochrie took home a cheque worth $105,000 as the purse had risen to $700,000.

By 1998, the purse had reached $1,000,000, and the winner that year, Pat Hurst, earned $150,000 – the same purse and prize money followed in 1999. The purse started creeping higher and higher from 2000 when the then-named Nabisco Dinah Shore became the Nabisco Championship (2000 – 2001) and the Kraft Nabisco Championship (2001 – 2014).

Morgan Pressel was the first Chevron Championship winner of a multi-milion dollar purse

Between 2000 and 2014 the purse grew from $1,250,000 in 2000 to $2,000,000 in 2014. However, the first winner of the multi-million dollar purse was Morgan Pressel in 2007. Every winner from 2007 to 2014 was paid $300,000 for their success.

The next purse increase came in 2015 which also saw The Chevron Championship renamed once again, this time to the ANA Inspiration (2015 – 2021). The purse saw a 25% rise, which resulted in that year’s champion, Brittany Lincicome, receiving $375,000 from the $2,500,000 purse. The purse rose by $600,000 over the next six years and the winner’s share in that time grew by $90,000.

The first $5,000,000 purse was up for grabs in 202 when Jennifer Kupcho lifted the trophy

In 2022, The Chevron Championship adopted the name it goes by today and the purse received a major boost from $3,100,000 in 2021 to $5,000,000 just one year later. The first winner of the $5,000,000 purse was Jennifer Kupcho, and she received $750,000. Last year the purse had grown again by $100,000, which meant the 2023 Chevron Champion, Lilia Vu, earned $765,000.

This year the purse for The Chevron Championship received a well-deserved boost. When the LPGA Tour announced its record-breaking 2024 schedule the $5,2000,000 purse was revealed for the first Major Championship of the season. However, at the start of the tournament week, an announcement was made that the purse would be rising by just over 50% to $7,900,000. The Chevron Championship crowned Nelly Korda as its very first million-dollar Champion in 2024.

YearMasters ChampionPrize MoneyPurse
2024Nelly Korda$1,200,000$7,900,000
2023Lilia Vu$765,000$5,100,000
2022Jennifer Kupcho$750,000$5,000,000
2021Patty Tavatanakit$465,000$3,100,000
2020Mirim Lee$465,000$3,100,000
2019Jin Young Ko$450,000$3,000,000
2018Pernilla Lindberg$420,000$2,800,000
2017So Yeon Ryu$405,000$2,700,000
2016Lydia Ko$390,000$2,600,000
2015Brittany Lincicome$375,000$2,500,000
2014Lexi Thompson$300,000$2,000,000
2013Inbee Park$300,000$2,000,000
2012Sun Young Yoo$300,000$2,000,000
2011Stacy Lewis$300,000$2,000,000
2010Yani Tseng$300,000$2,000,000
2009Brittany Lincicome$300,000$2,000,000
2008Lorena Ochoa$300,000$2,000,000
2007Morgan Pressel$300,000$2,000,000
2006Karrie Webb$270,000$1,800,000
2005Annika Sörenstam$270,000$1,800,000
2004Grace Park$240,000$1,600,000
2003Patricia Meunier-Lebouc$240,000$1,600,000
2002Annika Sörenstam$225,000$1,500,000
2001Annika Sörenstam$225,000$1,500,000
2000Karrie Webb$187,500$1,250,000
1999Dottie Pepper$150,000$1,000,000
1998Pat Hurst$150,000$1,000,000
1997Betsy King$135,000$900,000
1996Patty Sheehan$135,000$900,000
1995Nanci Brown$127,500$850,000
1994Donna Andrews$105,000$700,000
1993Helen Alfredsson$105,000$700,000
1992Dottie Mochrie$105,000$700,000
1991Amy Alcott$90,000$600,000
1990Betsy King$90,000$600,000
1989Juli Inkster$80,000$500,000
1988Amy Alcott$80,000$500,000
1987Betsy King$80,000$500,000
1986Pat Bradley$75,000$430,000
1985Alice Miller$55,000$400,000
1984Juli Inkster$55,000$400,000
1983Amy Alcott$55,000$400,000

SUBSCRIBE TO TODAY’S GOLFER: Print and Digital access, discounts and rewards!

About the author

James Hogg is a Golf Equipment Writer for Today's Golfer, with expert knowledge in putters, golf balls, and apparel.

James Hogg – Golf Equipment Writer

James has a degree in English Language from Newcastle University and an MA in Journalism from Kingston University.

He spent seven years working for American Golf as part of the sales and fitting team alongside his studies and is a specialist in putters, golf balls, and apparel.

James took up golf as a teenager and, thanks largely to his length and consistency off the tee, he plays off a handicap of 4.7 at Cleveland Golf Club.

You can contact James via email for loads more golf equipment insight.

- Just so you know, whilst we may receive a commission or other compensation from the links on this page, we never allow this to influence product selections - read why you should trust us.